India is up against England on day 1 of the 2nd Test at Chennai, and most of the things went in favour of hosts. Winning the toss, the Indian side came up with the bats first to mark their dominance, and it did happen owing to the masterclass flaunted by Rohit Sharma. India went through a big shock when Shubman Gill and skipper Virat Kohli had to return to the pavilion after enduring a duck.
However, the batting rhythm was steadied by Sharma, who played stunning innings of 161 runs. He was accompanied well enough by India’s deputy Ajinkya Rahane. Both of them stitched a robust partnership to push the team flying high. However, a while after Sharma got dismissed and Rishabh Pant chipped in, a weird incident happened that raised all the fingers on 3rd umpire.
In the 74.2nd over, Jack Leach was up in his action, and the ball looped to Ollie Pope at short leg, and visitors thought they had Rahane. However, it was signalled not out by the on-field umpire. England reviewed the call, and 3rd umpire decided to back the on-field signal without checking any deeper. However, skipper Joe Root didn’t seem convinced and went up for a chat with the umpire.
Here is how Twitter reacted on Ajinkya Rahane’s matter
Richest cricket board in the world.
Can't get cameras on both sides of the pitch. Can't use DRS properly when it suits them.
Joke of a Board#IndvEng
— Dennis Review System (@DennisCricket_) February 13, 2021
Hell, at last show that Rahane's glove replay now.
— Gaurav Sethi (@BoredCricket) February 13, 2021
Dreadful from the third umpire. Why didn't he play that through to answer England's appeal about whether the ball brushed Rahane's glove on the way up? (Which replays showed it did.)
— Lawrence Booth (@the_topspin) February 13, 2021
That’s out ? Off his glove ? Err wtf is going on?
— Elizabeth Ammon (@legsidelizzy) February 13, 2021
Is the Third umpire pissed .. !!!! He is having a stinker .. #INDvENG
— Michael Vaughan (@MichaelVaughan) February 13, 2021
How can a third umpire not look at that?!?! 🤦🏻♂️
— Glenn Maxwell (@Gmaxi_32) February 13, 2021
You’re kidding, what is the 3rd umpire on 🤣🤣🙈🙈
— Ben Duckett (@BenDuckett1) February 13, 2021
How can you get it so wrong with technology
— Matthew hoggard (@Hoggy602) February 13, 2021
— Rikki Clarke (@RikkiClarke81) February 13, 2021
3rd (class) umpire?
— George Dobell (@GeorgeDobell1) February 13, 2021
Rohit Sharma – Ajinkya Rahane’s partnership remained crucial for India
Root claimed that the TV umpire didn’t look for the ball, which might have grazed Rahana’s gloves on the way up. He didn’t seem fine even then, and everything was crystal clear when the replay came up. The UltraEdge suggested that the ball did brush up his gloves. Well, it was indeed a huge blunder on 3rd umpire’s part, but Rahane ultimately got dismissed in the next over in hands of Moeen Ali.
Rahane had to leave the field after scoring 67 runs. Talking about the game on Day 1, it was completely dominated by Rohit Sharma. His much-awaited innings put India in a dominating position. India scored 290 runs (at the time of writing) towards the end of the final session, and Pant and debutant Axar Patel are up on the crease.
Source: The source of this content is our cricket news platform Crictracker.
SportsInfo offers cricket, soccer, kabaddi, tennis, badminton, racing, basketball and other sports news, articles, videos, live coverage & live scores, player rankings & team rankings. Also, offers minute details of any match along with live commentary.
- ‘A good player doesn’t need to score 100 and 150 every game’ – Ajinkya Rahane backs Rohit Sharma to come good after failure in the first Test
- India vs England: Virat Kohli confirms Team India’s openers for the first T20I
- India vs England, 2021: 1st T20I, Statistical Preview – Babar Azam’s record in danger; Kohli, Rohit eye new milestones
- Top Stories: Things that made news in the cricket world today
- Rohit Sharma is the best batsman in the world right now: Manoj Tiwary