Late on day three of the India-England second Test in Chennai, an incident has sparked the debate over the use of ball-tracking in cricket once again. England captain Joe Root survived a lucky one of Axar Patel’s bowling when he should have actually been given out. Indian captain Virat Kohli was seen furious while talking to the umpire on the field.
The incident took place when Patel bowled a gentle delivery to which Root’s lazy feet couldn’t react on time. The pace with which the spinner had delivered the ball took it straight and Root was caught on his crease as the ball crashed his back pad. The Indian fielders went for an appeal, but the umpire, Nitin Menon gave it not out.
The Indian captain Kohli went for the Decision Review System (DRS) immediately without any hesitation. However, when the replays came in, it showed that the impact of the ball hitting the pads was not enough in line with the stumps. The ball was absolutely crashing the stumps as the impact stayed as umpire’s call, Root survived and wasn’t given out.
I can understand why the Indian captain is remonstrating: Nick Knight
As soon as the replays came on the big screen, Kohli was seen conversing with the umpire on the field. The disappointment on his face was pretty visible as Root was absolutely plumb in front. Former England cricketer, Nick Knight, who was in the commentary box at the time, said that he was flabbergasted.
“I can understand why the Indian captain is remonstrating,” Knight said. “It appeared to me that Joe Root began to withdraw his leg or straighten his back leg and by the time it hit him on his pad, you could see the off stump. I’m giving that out all day long. You see the way the knee straightens there, you can see off stump. I’m flabbergasted,” Knight added.
It was visible from the replays that Root had straightened his legs, which is why the impact should have been on the stumps, however, ball tracking decided that the ball wasn’t into the stumps enough. There were people on Twitter who talked about this incident and here are some of the tweets.
The impact cannot be outside the line (if playing a shot). No part of Root's pads are outside the line. Yet this was adjudged to have hit him outside the line (because less than half the ball is hitting).
I'm sure the smallprint makes it kosher, but still. pic.twitter.com/bPEsMruzLO
— Scott Oliver (@reverse_sweeper) February 15, 2021
Joe Root survives a mighty close lbw decision just before the close but England 53-3 and India will no doubt wrap this up tomorrow. Still plenty for England to play for looking ahead to Ahmedabad. Impressed by Dan Lawrence at the end there…
— Paul Newman 🌈 (@Paul_NewmanDM) February 15, 2021
That’s the plumpest LBW I’ve ever seen given not out by DRS. Problem is the DRS went with the umpires call for not out for a caught behind not LBW.
— Mark Waugh (@juniorwaugh349) February 15, 2021
That is a huge issue for DRS. Joe Root was given not out by the umpire for caught behind. He was saved from a clear LBW by umpires call on impact.
It is a decision the umpire in my opinion never made. I find it a massive flaw in DRS which I like. One solution to this would
— Seth Bennett (@Sethb45) February 15, 2021
Be asking the fielding captain what he is appealing for. At which point the onfield umpire gives his decision and then the if it is like this case not out for caught. Then fielding team reviews again & the 3rd umpire solely makes the LBW decision and there is no umpires call.
— Seth Bennett (@Sethb45) February 15, 2021
— Rajdeep Sardesai (@sardesairajdeep) February 15, 2021
DRS is still not at its best when it comes to accuracy, by the time the ball had hit the pad of Joe Root, the off stump was clearly visible but ball tracking was not accurate at all, that was plumb LBW !!
— Divyank Gupta (@DivyankGupta16) February 15, 2021
That looked LBW but that is also umpire's call. Root stays. Virat Kohli can't believe it. I sense a penalty is coming his way 😁 #INDvsENG
— Siba Mohanty (@Siba_TNIE) February 15, 2021
Umpires are making a mockery of the DRS! If the the third umpire relies on umpires call when one sees from the naked eye that Joe Root is out, then why its Not Out? @bhogleharsha @virendersehwag @BCCI @ICC #INDvsENG #DRS
— Sujay Pokle (@sujaypokle) February 15, 2021
Off-Stump itself is clearly visible from the straight angle. Then how on earth that the impact could be outside off! 😅
— Jegan (@IamJegan) February 15, 2021
The Joe Root decision is exactly why DRS needs improvement.
It is academic in this game but at a different time, we've seen how disastrous broken systems can be.
Cc – World Cup final 2019.
Fix it while you can ICC #INDvsENG
— Arinjay Ghosh (@ArinjayGhosh) February 15, 2021
— Tejas Joshi (@tej_as_f) February 15, 2021
I don't understand how is this still not out. DRS is useless if you still want to give benifit of doubt to the batsman. Disappointed with the umpires. @ICC it's high time to make appropriate changes. #INDvsENG #JoeRoot #axarpatel https://t.co/3kQ7jBpTlq
— Aayush Gupta🇮🇳 (@_aayush7_) February 15, 2021
The ICC should have a serious think about 'Umpire's Call' to do away with nonsense decisions like Joe Root being given not out when plum LBW.
— David Beckett (@iamdavidbeckett) February 15, 2021
Source: The source of this content is our cricket news platform Crictracker.
SportsInfo offers cricket, soccer, kabaddi, tennis, badminton, racing, basketball and other sports news, articles, videos, live coverage & live scores, player rankings & team rankings. Also, offers minute details of any match along with live commentary.
- India vs England: Virat Kohli confirms Team India’s openers for the first T20I
- Virat Kohli picks favourites for T20 World Cup 2021
- IND vs ENG: 1st T20I, Match Prediction- Who will win today’s match?
- India vs England, 2021: 1st T20I, Statistical Preview – Babar Azam’s record in danger; Kohli, Rohit eye new milestones
- Top Stories: Things that made news in the cricket world today